Naga Tribes in Nagaland State

Naga is a generic name for several groups, each having distinct identity.  In Nagaland State, 15 Naga tribes are recognised by the Govt. The Kuki and Kachari are non-Naga tribe.

1. Angami

2. Ao

3. Chakhesang

4.  Chang

5. Konyak

6. Khiamnungam

7. Kyong (Lotha)

8.  Phom

9. Pochuri

10. Rengma

11. Sumi (Sema)

12. Sangtam

13. Yimchunger

14. Zeliang

15. Rongmei*

16. Kuki

17. Kachari

* Recently Rongmei Naga tribe was recognised by the govt of nagaland.


Photo by:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s