A question to MIP GPRN/NSCN (I-M)

by: Kaka D. Iralu

1 Jul. 2013

To be guilty of “high treason against the nation” by indulging in “anti-national crimes against the nation” is to be guilty for capital punishment. Such criminal acts against one’s own nation are crimes that deserve death before a firing squad. In your article “To set the matter Straight: NSCN (IM),” dated June 26, 2013, you have accused me of being guilty of such crimes against our Naga nation. You have also added that such crimes “will no longer be tolerated” and that you “will not remain a silent spectator” anymore. Therefore in the light of such serious charges against me, allow me to state the following:

1. I am not trying to justify or defend the Shillong Accord of 1975. As any reader of my article “Some hard facts about the Shillong Accord and its aftermath” (May 4, 2013) would have noted, I have simply recounted the factual historical events that led to the signing of the Accord. I also did add some of my own personal views but did not in any way tried to impose those views on anybody. So you can accept or reject my own personal views. But to impose your own views on those of mine and threaten me with dire consequences is a most undignified and ignoble act on your part as a Government.

2. You may agree or disagree with me that the Nagaland Peace Council members did a heroic job of searching out the last remnants of the NNC and FGN members at the risk of their own lives. These people were not some traitorous young Nagas under the Indian Government’s pay roll but elderly Reverends who risked their lives to save our leaders as well as the curfew bound starving villagers of the then Nagaland. To call these revered Church elders as “misguided’ and brokers of traitorous acts is to insult the Nagaland Baptist Council of Churches and brand it as the enemy of the Naga people.

3. In my writings of over 1000 pages defending our national cause over a span of 16 years, I had never argued that some of our “NNC leaders escaped to Eastern Nagaland for fear of Indian military operations”. In fact in my book The Naga Saga, in the story “A trip to China that ended in an Indian prison” pp. 309-328, I had specifically mentioned that Th. Muivah and Isak Swu were sent to China in November 1974 along with 140 Naga soldiers to procure more arms to carry on the fight- p.312. In that story I had recounted their heroic attempt where out of 140; only 13 of them were able to slip into China. Seventy of those soldiers were finally captured while the rest perished in the attempt. Dear fellow Nagas of the NSCN/IM, I was born on March 3, 1956 amidst the sound of gunfire, bomb blast and burning of villages. I was a political prisoner at the age of 7 months along with my father, mother and grandfather. And for all my life, I and my family members have lived under the shadow of Indian threat to our lives. Now in the “afternoon” of my life on earth, I am not going to live under the shadow of another threat from my own fellow Nagas. If I am indeed guilty of treason to the nation, then let God and the Naga people be our judge.

Leave a Reply

